ALDinHE Awards

ALDinHE Annual Award

The ALDinHE Annual Award was launched in 2020 to celebrate great practice and dedicated practitioners in the learning development community. The awards are open to everyone working in learning development.

Nominations are invited from colleagues by sending a brief (300 words) account of a practitioner’s contribution to learning development to Tell us how they have made a difference to students and we will celebrate their achievements.

The call for applications opens in May of each year for 4 weeks and the winners are announced at the Annual Conference held in June.

Our previous winner and nominees can be found here for: 20212020

Nomination guidelines:

  • You can nominate a colleague at your own institution or a different one. You can nominate yourself!
  • The nominations will be reviewed by a committee of our Emeritus members
  • The committee will be looking for a link to the five ALDinHE values and the contribution made to learning development
  • We will publicly recognise all nominees and celebrate the shortlisted nominees.
  • Neither you nor the person you are nominating are required to attend the conference
  • Members of the ALDinHE Steering Group are not eligible for nomination

JLDHE Reviewer of the Year Awards

We are thrilled to announce that this year we are launching the annual JLDHE Reviewer of the Year Awards to recognise and celebrate excellence among our peer reviewers. 

Every year we select two top reviewers who made exceptionally helpful contributions to the Journal in terms of the quantity, quality, and timeliness of their reviews, as well as their generosity in sharing expertise, their scholarly rigour, and their kindness.

While honouring only two colleagues in this way, we also want to acknowledge – as we do in our editorials – that many other reviewers regularly provide outstanding support for the Journal. We are immensely grateful for their hard work, for their time, and for helping us to foster this unique community of Learning Developers committed to excellence in research.

Our winners of the Reviewer of the Year Awards for 2021 are: Lee Fallin and Samantha Ahern

Lee Fallin and Samantha Ahern completed numerous reviews for JLDHE, often commenting on submissions multiple times at different stages of the editorial process. This award recognises in particular their exceptional support for authors and clear communication with editors during the production of our Compendium of Innovative Practice last year. Their contributions were always timely, generous, and kind, while being scholarly rigorous, critical, and constructive. It was a pleasure to work with both Lee and Samantha. 

Warm congratulations to both winners and a heartfelt thank you to all our reviewers for everything you do.

Congratulations to ALDinHE members who received formal recognition of their specialist knowledge and practice in learning development in 2021-22.

The following members were awarded Certified Practitioners (CeP) and Certified Leading Practitioners (CeLP) in Learning Development:


  • Amy West  
  • Anne Evertett 
  • Chad McDonald
  • Ed Bickle  
  • Karen Hudson
  • Laurence Morris 
  • Rebekka Jolley
  • Robert Chang 


  • Daisy Abbott

View the complete list of CeP and CeLP holders

CeP and CeLP Award Certificates
Skip to content